Jackie Griffin-Lisney

Job Title:
Counselling & Operations Manager


Career overview:

I worked for a credit reference organisation called the United Association for the Protection of Trade (known today as Experian/Equifax) as my first career role after leaving college. I then moved to work for a Building Society for 14 years during which time I took time out to start my family.

On returning to work I needed flexibility for the children so I studied to teach Aerobics and gained my qualification and ran classes for 5 years self-employed and for Southampton City Council in addition to working for a local Estate Agent, and a Beauty Salon.

In 2000 I applied an administration role for IYC and since working for IYC have developed my qualifications to include a CLAIT Diploma, NVQ Level 3 in Management and an ILM (Institute of Leadership and Management) Level 3, together with relevant in-house and external training.

What do you do at IYC?

I am the Counselling and Operations Manager at It’s Your Choice.

My role varies from managing the counselling service, recruitment and management of volunteer Counsellors, to ensuring that IYC runs smoothly on a day to day basis.

Attending partnership and networking meetings is another aspect of my job and is a huge opportunity to showcase the work of IYC and to build relationships with other organisations across the New Forest. I am also one of the Lead Child Protection and Safeguarding Officers for IYC.

What attracted you to working at IYC?

I started work at IYC in 2000 as the part-time administration worker; this suited me at the time with two children at school and being local to home.

However, I quickly recognised what an important service IYC provides to the young people of the New Forest and found myself doing more for IYC and those young people over the years.

Without realising it you get engulfed with a passion for helping and supporting these young people and are driven by the challenges that face them on a day to day basis.

What do you do outside of work?

I enjoy walking, eating out, reading and spending time with my family and especially my granddaughters.